An antidote to boredom!

What a busy week I had thanks to Sheffield Slings!

I was forced to miss the first two meets of the week (a girly pamper session where everyone minded the kids while their mums were massaged or hair was cut, and a wintery sling walk through the woods for ice-cream), due to a domestic crisis with the washing machine but I made up for it the second half of the week!

Wednesday was our regular Playtime event at Hillsborough. We ate lots of cake and spent some time catching up with old friends and making lots of new ones. I helped mums try ring slings, back carries with woven wraps  and different types of baby buckled carriers whilst my toddler ran herself ragged with all her friends. There were so many slings coming out of the stash box and being used! It was wonderful to relax and have fun knowing my little girl was safe and enjoying herself. The event finished with a visit from a reporter and photographer from a local newspaper who were interested in Sheffield Slings, so we all got to show off our best smiles for the camera! There were over a hundred people through our doors that day – so many that we’ve decided to run Playtime fortnightly, double the fun! (2nd and 4th Wednesdays).

I am part of the Sheffield Slings demo squads, so on Thursday I did a demo with some other squad members at Charnock children’s centre. We got to show new mums all the different options when it comes to slinging and all the reasons why it’s a good idea. Lots of mums were interested and joined our facebook group afterwards for a chat, to find out more and to look up some local events they could join in with.

On Friday I started the day with a trip to Weston Park Museum to meet up with some other Slingers. My little girl had an amazing time running amok with the other small children and I had a lot of fun having some adult conversation. After a leisurely lunch with them all I jumped on a tram to start the journey to the next meet! After a power nap in my sling my little girl was raring to go again. We had a great time on our walk around Rother Valley, she rode happily on my back, shouting at all the dogs brought by other slingy mums we met up with and looking at the ducks. I had very sore feet by the end of the day!

They didn’t have long to recover though as the next morning myself and the whole family saddled up and went to my final sling meet of the week – Clumber Park! A great family day out was had by all as we wandered around the park, played at the soft play area, and had wacky races on scooters. And no, I wasn’t referring  to the kids at that last point..  Lots of us got to try out a new prototype ring sling made by Firespiral Slings; it was so lovely we all queued up to try it and it was brilliantly comfy. As we all collapsed in the car at the end of a fabulous week I can’t help but feel so lucky to have made the decision to use a sling with my third child. It’s not just because they are useful, pretty, and give me lots of wonderful cuddles to remember long after my baby has grown.  I’ve also made some wonderful friends and had some great experiences, and I’m never bored with Sheffield Slings!!

If you want to get involved in this group that I love, our FB group is here, with new events being added weekly… it’d be great to meet you!

About sheffieldslings

A relaxed group of people who love carrying our children in slings, sharing our experiences of parenting, supporting and encouraging each other. "Sharing our strengths and muddling our way through the rest together"
Aside | This entry was posted in Slings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

